One of the best things about being sober today, all the extra things I get to do with loved ones.  This year is my 4th year sobriety and I am grateful that I am able to spend so much time with my 10 year old boy (Alex).

20369760_10214032723114492_4786942987022276088_o
SF

Lol, sometimes I feel like that stereotype everyone sees.  The girl who gets her shit together and says stuff like, “My kids are my world!”  I used to always make fun of that girl.  But I am totally that girl (in guy form).  Haha

Alex and I got to travel all across the US this summer.  We were able to tour Washington DC, New York and then the Midwest.  The Midwest I lump together because, well, you ought to lump it together.  It is all the same stuff for miles and miles.  For example I seen the best thing in Wyoming, The Lincoln memorial rest stop!

19983544_10213857630697291_7604543566658348882_o
Lincoln Memorial rest stop

I live in Reno, and Reno does totally suck.  But one of the best things about Reno is everything around it.  All the camping I get to do with Alex here!  I recently bought a couple bikes and I have kept them on the back of my car for the last 3 weeks.  Everywhere I go I bring them.  Besides just camp ground biking, my son and I were able to bike the city’s San Francisco and Reno.

One of the fun things is consistently yelling at him to keep going.  I get flashbacks to my military side, and with that I get to push my boy harder.  For example, we biked 18 miles in San Francisco together, and he is only 10 years old.

I know, some people would say that this is too much.  Now that his dad has checked back into life and decided to become accountable.  For better or worse, this is how I parent.  If you ask me my Son has it better than almost anyone his age.

Thank you for reading, Friend me on Facebook.  Follow me on twitter.  Check out my blog homepage!  Got anything you want to share about life with your kids now that you’re sober.  Feel free to comment.

I’m about to go camping this weekend in Yosemite.  Catch ya later, B.

